Sick of Eircom Broadband Downtime? How to switch to OpenDNS

 

I know I’m not the only one who has really suffered this week with Eircom downtime (Apparently their DNS servers were hacked. The lady I asked about this on the phone convincingly said “Ah no, I don’t think they were hacked now, is that even possible?”) and just switched to OpenDNS, which was suggested by Komplett.ie’s blog (Thanks Komplett!). The process was relatively painless but if you’re not tech savvy, then the guide offered for Motorola routers likely puzzled you. Luckily Thomas is here to save the day and break down the process for you. I won’t provide screenshots as I don’t think they’re necessary as it’s quite quick, but if you hit a obstacle feel free to leave a comment and I’ll help you to the best of my ability.

1) First, open your router’s settings page by opening it’s address (http://192.168.1.254/ if you’re using the router Eircom provides for free)

2) Hit “Expert Mode” on the left sidebar

3) Confirm that you want to enter expert mode, then click “configure” and then “connection”

4) Scroll down to “Primary DNS Server” and change it to “208.67.222.222”. Change “Secondary DNS server” to “208.67.220.220”.

Hit “Save and Restart Connection” at the bottom of the page, wait a few moments, and complete registration on the OpenDNS site.

And that’s it! I hope this guide helped you with your switch, and I hope you’re happy with your much more secure connection, but don’t be afraid to let Eircom know how annoyed you are with this whole situation. I’ll be expecting some sort of compensation on my bill, or Eircom can expect one less customer next year.

13 thoughts on “Sick of Eircom Broadband Downtime? How to switch to OpenDNS

  1. Pingback: PC Help Thread - Page 37 - Wiffy.ie - Nintendo Wii & DS in Ireland

  2. Grand, no problems there. One problem I have noticed so far however, is Firefox’s Awesomebar is acting a bit different. Just typing in the word “google” before would bring up http://www.google.ie/. Instead, now I get directed to this page: http://tinypic.com/m/4vsaco/4 However, typing in “Barry Hand” brings up your blog. I haven’t had a real chance to mess around with it yet, but as for it being faster, speedtest results suggest that it is.

  3. Hi there,

    I was just looking online for a way to switch this to from my (rather crappy!) Eircom connection and stumbled onto your blog. Thanks very much for the info!

  4. That’s fairly interesting Pádraig, I’m with BT myself – rejoining recently and their DNS servers have vastly improved from when I first used them in 2007 where it was unreliable.

    Although my home laptops are both macs, and have dns caching.

  5. Hello i stumbled accross this blog, thanks for the info

    I don’t know much about this Opendns stuff (all i know is when eircom goes down i can switch to this and everythings fine again)

    1. Just wondering do you have to register with them on their site because its working and i haven’t registered?

    2. When eircoms is back running again should i switch back the dns settings or should i just carry on with Opendns?

    thanks

  6. Hi David,
    As far as I know you don’t NEED to register, but if you don’t you won’t be able change any of the default settings. It doesn’t take long in any case and they won’t spam you or anything
    I actually thought eircom was back already as I haven’t heard any complaints in a while. I ran some speed tests and found OpenDNS to be quite a bit faster, about a second per page but that’s a lot on a broadband connection. I don’t know why you’d want to switch back but if you just use these steps again and replace the OpenDNS IP address’s with Eircoms (Available from customer support or their website if you didn’t write them down) then everything will be the same as before. I’ve lost my trust in Eircom’s security after this incident so I won’t be doing it any time soon.
    Hope that helps!

  7. Ok so i was reading all this cause i am really annoyed because my connection with eircom is always down between like 4-11.30 then it gets ok.
    I was going through what you said and to go to http://192.168.1.254/ but this site wont open for me anymore it used work ages ago when i used it any help ?

  8. So i finally got it and switched to openDNS, what im wondering is does this make you connection better because it hasnt? I have press save changes and all that and am defo on opendns . Any helP?

  9. Christ very sorry James, for some reason I never got a notification on your comments. No, openDNS won’t improve your connection, you should take up the issue with Eircom or give me a more detailed explanation.

Leave a Reply

